FE #4

Observations

This week I got to give some reading comprehension tests to the kids. It always shocks me to see what kids perform well. Some of the kids who are in special reading groups or the ones who go to speech do really well and it confuses me. I don’t understand why those kids are sometimes performing better than the kids without learning disabilities.

Learning Experiences

There is a girl in my class who always is misbehaving. Mrs. McClure told me that while I am there she is on her best behavior just so that I will talk to her, help her, and do different activities with her. When I leave she likes to act out, be mean to the other kids, and not do her work. I can’t address the behavior when I’m there because she acts that way when I am not. I just wish she would act the way she does when I’m there when I am not there.

Reflections

This week has been really good with my class. I enjoy the fact that I get to go to one class in the morning on A days and another in the afternoon on B days. I get to see all the subjects being taught and I get to see all types of students from two classes. It helps me to see all the different types of kids and different issues in the classroom.

Stories

There is a really quiet little boy in my class who I have been trying to get closer to and nothing was seeming to work. Then one day when I was leaving I told them all goodbye and when I was just about to close the door he ran up and hugged me. I was so happy when he did that because I felt like I had made some progress.

Leave a comment