FE #2

Observations

This week since I have had more time in the room I have really noticed that they have such a good morning routine set up. The kids come to the door in the morning and they do the morning greeting, it is different for each day for the week. Then they come in and unpack, put up their lunch boxes, and start on morning work. There is never any confusion in the morning about what they should be doing and when it is time to watch the announcements, they go to the carpet quietly and sit quietly. Each student also has a classroom job which also helps things run smoothly.  This made me realize when I become a first-year teacher I need to figure out how I want my room to run, and I need to establish a strong classroom management plan.

Learning Experience

This week I gave a math assessment to the students and I could only read the question to them. It was interesting to see how well the high-level students did, only making some silly mistakes, but also how the lower level students did. Giving assessments like that really shows how different each student in the class is and how every student is in a different place academically.

Reflections

This week I read two different books to the class. I read Horton Hears a Who, and Hop on Pop both by Dr. Seuss. When I read Horton Hears a WHo the class was full of energy because the book is so exciting, but when I read Hop on Pop the energy level was so low. Even though I tried to make it exciting and then talk about the rhyming in it they just weren’t as involved in it, and it reminded me of all the read alouds we did where some peoples books were way easier to e involved in than others.

Story to tell

There is a child in my class and he is just a very slow kid. My teacher was asking the class a question about who had finished their number book and another student answered her saying that he had. My teacher then asked him 5 times if he had finished it and he didn’t answer her until she walked up to him. He wasn’t ignoring her or being rude he just wasn’t paying attention an that is just one example of how almost all of them are.

Leave a comment