Blog #11

Read Alouds

None

Learning Experiences

This past week Bri and I finally got to teach our lesson to the class. I would have to say it went very well. I feel like I was very prepared to teach the lesson and because I was prepared it flowed very smoothly.  It was also a good thing that we were able to go back and watch a video of our lesson to really see it from another perspective. In our lesson, it was good to see how many side conversations and background talking was actually going on. If I was really in the class with kids I can look back at that and plan out what can be done to prevent some of that.

Current Event

https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/27/education/school-districts-funding-white-minorities.html?rref=collection%2Fsectioncollection%2Feducation&action=click&contentCollection=education&region=stream&module=stream_unit&version=latest&contentPlacement=7&pgtype=sectionfront

This article was very sad to read and think about because it discusses the fact that all across the United States the school districts that are predominately people of color receive $23 billion less than those of white people. Reading something like this breaks my heart. I understand that some areas are richer than others but every child should be presented with the equipment they need to really succeed and be able to do great things.

Quote of the Week

Image result for quotes on education

I picked this quote because as we get closer an closer to graduation I am getting more and more tired of school. I have been thinking that I was getting tired of all the work we have to do but then I realized that the amount of work we are doing is not changing at all if anything it has gotten to be less. I am just getting tired of waking up early and doing the same thing every day. I enjoy the work I do and I like to learn new things but I am getting tired of doing it in the same location I have been in for the past 18 years of my life.

Observations

As college gets closer and closer I am getting so excited. I am also getting nervous. I moved to Florida when I was going into 6th grade and it was really weird being the new kid for the first time in my life. I was thinking about how I am going to feel that way again but at the same time, everyone is going to feel that way so it will be okay.

Reflection

Going over all the rules and instructions has only made me more excited for Feild Experience. I am so excited to meet my class on Monday. I am looking forward to teaching my own lessons and really realizing what going to an elementary school every day is like.

Leave a comment