Blog #9

Read-alouds

There were no read alouds.

Learning Experience

This week the South Carolina Teacher of the Year, Jeff Maxey came to talk to us about his teaching experiences. It was very interesting to hear him talk about everything that happened throughout his career that shaped him into the teacher he is today. Hearing him talk about everything that has happened to him with such enthusiasm really shows his passion, and love for teaching.

Mrs. Aplin also came to talk to us about using technology in the classroom. It was really nice to see all the ways that it can be used. It will definitely be helpful when it comes time for field experience.

Current Event

https://www.usnews.com/news/national-news/articles/2019-01-25/shutdown-resolution-averts-school-lunch-crisis

Arcadia Elementary School students eat lunch on November 18, 2016 in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Several families in the Kalamazoo Public Schools participate in the National School Lunch Program, offering free or discounted lunches for low-income students. (Photo by Ann Hermes/The Christian Science Monitor via Getty Images)

This article talked about how during the government shut down schools that had many students who relied on school breakfast and lunch had a hard time. They had to budget and account for all the students who needed it. Some schools needed the government to open when they did because they might not have made it much longer on what was left with the budget.

Quote of the Week

Image result for inspirational quotes

I really liked this quote because it relates to where I am in my life right now. I need to start making good habits in my life at home and in my school work. If I start making good habits now they will stay with me when I go to college making it easier to adjust to college life.

Observations

After talking about the different types of assessments in class it was very interesting to see what types my teachers use. It was even more interesting to see how they use it in elementary school. The younger students don’t take many quizzes or tests so it was interesting to see how the teachers call them up to the smart board or use whiteboards to see how the students were doing.

Reflections

Graduation keeps getting closer and closer and I am getting really excited. I am so excited to make new friends and new experiences. I did realize I am really going to miss my mom. We are very close and we do everything together. We are going to the beach together over spring break and I think that will be a very fun experience for both of us.

Leave a comment